Series I Won’t Finish

Standard

As Frank Zappa once said: so many books, so little time, and unfortunately due to real life getting in the way I’ve had to cull a few books from my illustrious TBR shelf, and cut a few series along the way too. So I’ve put together the top five series that I regrettably won’t be finishing (anytime soon).

These books are in no particular order.

The Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld

13581049

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. In just a few weeks she’ll have the operation that will turn her from a repellent ugly into a stunning pretty. And as a pretty, she’ll be catapulted into a high-tech paradise where her only job is to have fun. But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world– and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally a choice: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. Tally’s choice will change her world forever. – from Goodreads.com

I read the first book in the Uglies series for one of my classes at university and quite enjoyed it. So then I decided to read Pretties, which was book two, but enjoyed it significantly less. I don’t think I’ll be embarking on the third book, Specials, any time soon.

The Pretty Little Liars Series by Sara Shepard

162085

Three years ago, Alison disappeared after a slumber party, not to be seen since. Her friends at the elite Pennsylvania school mourned her, but they also breathed secret sighs of relief. Each of them guarded a secret that only Alison had known. Now they have other dirty little secrets, secrets that could sink them in their gossip-hungry world. When each of them begins receiving anonymous emails and text messages, panic sets in. Are they being betrayed by some one in their circle? Worse yet: Is Alison back? – from Goodreads.com

I have never heard of a series having so many books attached to it. The Pretty Little Liars series has sixteen books in total which must be a world record. I have read eleven of them in total but felt that after that amount, the books were a bit same-y.

The Jennifer Jones Series by Anne Cassidy

3257374

Three children walked away from the cottages on the edge of town toward Berwick Waters. Later that day, only two of them came back. Alice Tully knows exactly what happened that spring day six years ago, though it’s still hard for her to believe it. She’ll never be able to forget, even though she’s trying to lead a normal life-she has a job, friends, and a boyfriend whom she adores. But Alice’s past is dangerous, and violent, and sad, and it’s about to rip her new life apart. – from Goodreads.com

I really enjoyed the first book in Anne Cassidy’s duology, but the second book Finding Jennifer Jones didn’t live up to the level of the first, and around a quarter of the way through I decided to put it down and preserve my love for the first book instead.

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snickett

109484

Dear Reader, I’m sorry to say that the book you are holding in you hands is extremely unpleasant.It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children.Even though they are charming and clever,the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. – from Goodreads.com

Unfortunately I completely missed the boat with this one, having read it only last year at the tender age of 24 when I should have read it ten years earlier! I love the movie and am really looking forward to the upcoming Netflix series, but I won’t be continuing with the books as I feel I’m a little bit too old now.

The Fallen Series by Lauren Kate

6487308

Seventeen-Year-Old Luce is a new student at Sword & Cross, an unwelcoming boarding/reform school in Savannah, Georgia. Luce’s boyfriend died under suspicious circumstances, and now she carries the guilt over his death with her as she navigates the unfriendly halls at Sword & Cross, where every student seems to have an unpleasant—even evil—history. It’s only when she sees Daniel that her life looks a little better. But Daniel has a secret which will put their lives in danger… – from Goodreads.com

I enjoyed reading Fallen, especially in the setting at Sword and Cross. So when I found out that the next book in the series, Torment, moves away from the school and focuses on (in my opinion) the weakest element of the series (the romance), I decided not to continue with the series.

So that concludes the series that I won’t be finishing. Are there any on this list you think I should rethink? Or do you agree with my choices? Let me know in the comments!

Advertisements

Book Adaptation List: TV Edition

Standard

In light of Shadowhunters: The TV Show (based off of the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, and beginning with City of Bones) dropping this New Year, I’ve thought long and hard about what books I would love to see be adapted into TV shows. Why not movies? I hear you ask. Good question. Some books are just too complicated or too layered to be compacted into a film, and once you see my list, you’ll understand why.

These books are in no particular order.

1

The Heather Wells Mysteries

849675

Heather’s perfectly happy with her new size 12 shape (the average for the American woman!) and her new job as an assistant dorm director at one of New York’s top colleges. That is, until the dead body of a female student from Heather’s residence hall is discovered at the bottom of an elevator shaft. – from Goodreads.com

Can you imagine a comedy/drama/crime TV featuring a body positive message and exciting murder mysteries? Talk about breaking the mould, much. I can only imagine Jen Morrison in the role as Heather Wells the badass amateur sleuth and Ben Barnes her gorgeous love interest Cooper. Does it sound perfect? It does to me.

2

Nineteen Minutes

902826

Sterling is an ordinary New Hampshire town where nothing ever happens–until the day its complacency is shattered by an act of violence. Josie Cormier, the daughter of the judge sitting on the case, should be the state’s best witness, but she can’t remember what happened before her very own eyes–or can she? As the trial progresses, fault lines between the high school and the adult community begin to show–destroying the closest of friendships and families. – from Goodreads.com

One of the things I loved the most about this book was it’s ensemble of characters, and how all of them played a vital role in the plot. Picoult crafted this book so well, with moral complexity, layers and much more, and I can definitely see it being adapted in the near future.

3

 Dorothy Must Die

20483113

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling. – from Goodreads.com

I would love nothing more than to see Danielle Paige’s new (but not improved) world of Oz come to life. Everyone loves the character of Dorothy, but now that it’s under her rule, I want everyone to see what she’s been up to whilst we’ve been away.

4

Paper Valentine

16137923.jpg

The city of Ludlow is gripped by the hottest July on record. The asphalt is melting, the birds are dying, petty crime is on the rise, and someone in Hannah Wagnor’s peaceful suburban community is killing girls. – from Goodreads.com

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, I think this book would fill the void it our hearts once our precious PLL ends. *sob*

5

Fallen

6487308

17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart. – from Goodreads.com

Yes, I know Fallen is already in the works to be made into a movie, but City of Bones was a movie before it was part of the Shadowhunters TV Series. I think what really drew me into this book was Luce’s adventures at Sword and Cross, which I think would translate really well to TV. Who knows? Hopefully if the movie is successful they can make a TV off the back of it?

So this is the list (so far) of books I think would make good TV shows. What are yours? Let me know down in the comments if I’m missing out on any adaptation gems!