Top 10 Young Adult Series

Standard

Young Adult series are my thing. I love the excitement, picking up the first book and drowning myself in a new world, new characters, new ships, then waiting until the next book arrives in the post, giddy with glee over what may or may not happen next. I’ve read quite a few in my 24 years, so here are my top ten favourites.

These books are in no particular order.

The Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

72193

Harry Potter is the holy grail of YA. Ask anyone who likes to read and they will tell you the same thing. It doesn’t matter when you were born, whether you’ve read the books or seen the films, whether you read them to your children or read them yourself, Harry Potter is a series unlike any other.

The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis

822603

I find a lot of ‘Top YA Series‘ lists leave off The Chronicles of Narnia, and perhaps this is just a personal thing, but these books are so special to me. I remember reading them as a very young child, then re-reading them as a teenage and now re-reading them as a young adult. I never tire of these stories, particularly the audio books, which to me is story-telling at it’s finest.

The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

DIVERGENT_B_Format_UK.indd

I had to read Divergent when I was taking a class in dystopian fiction, and I completely fell in love. A lot of people were likening it to The Hunger Games, but for me, the themes and characters are completely different, and to compare them would be to disservice both books. Divergent is a solid YA dystopia story, but after reading Insurgent and Allegiant as well, I’m convinced that the Divergent series is one that stands out from the dystopian world cliche.

The Hunger Games Saga by Suzanne Collins

12885649

Once again, I read The Hunger Games for a class in children’s fiction, and really, really enjoyed it. I stormed through Catching Fire which I thought was just as brilliant, but I felt Mockingjay let down what would have been a fantastic end to the series. That being said, we wouldn’t have the magnificent Hunger Games films if we did not have the books in the first place, and the original trilogy of books really fired up the popularity of YA, and for that I am extremely thankful.

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

11235712

I have only just recently read The Lunar Chronicles and Cinder was one of my favourite books of 2015. I adore fairy tale retellings, and Marissa Meyer did a fantastic job being so creative with the original structure of the tales. Before reading The Lunar Chronicles, I didn’t really read a lot of Science Fiction, but now I would be open to reading further into the genre. Having said that, The Lunar Chronicles has set the bar, so hopefully there are lots of good Sci-Fi novels of the same caliber.

Dorothy Must Die Series by Danielle Paige

20483113

Another retelling, but instead of the series being based on fairy tales, the Dorothy Must Die series is based on the popular book-to-film adaptation The Wizard of Oz. In keeping with the success of popular musical, Wicked, the Dorothy Must Die series shows a side to Oz that we may not have originally thought of, where Good Witches are bad and Bad Witches are good. This series is so imaginative and exciting that it’s difficult not to love it!

Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman

714902

Apart from Harry Potter and The Chronicles of Narnia, the Noughts and Crosses series was probably one of the first series I ever read. Malorie Blackman’s tale of Sephy and Callum mirrors that of Romeo and Juliet, but with a clever twist, raising questions about inequality and race in the alternate society within the books.

The Heather Wells Mysteries by Meg Cabot

849675

This is a quintet that some may not know about. The Heather Wells mysteries chronicles the story of a Residence Hall Director, come amateur sleuth, who’s job is jepoardised by deaths happening at the New York College dormitories where she works. It’s fun, fast paced, exciting and full of brilliant characters. What more could you want?

Jennifer Jones Series by Anne Cassidy

3257374

Looking for JJ and Finding Jennifer Jones make up the Jennifer Jones duo-logy, written by Anne Cassidy about the title character’s juvenile delinquency, new identity, and feelings surrounding ‘what happened that day at the Berwick Waters’. A thrilling, gripping, exciting duo of books that all YA lovers will enjoy.

Pretty Little Liars Series by Sara Shepard

162085

Not many people know that the original story of Pretty Little Liars started out as a book. Most of you will know the title Pretty Little Liars from the Freeform series of the same name. Although the TV show takes inspiration from the original books, these quick reads will be just what you need to keep your pretty little thirst at bay between seasons.

That concludes my top ten YA series. I tried to include a variety of different genres and only include ones I had read and could vouch for. Perhaps in the coming years I’ll do an updated version and there will be even more competitive list.

Book Adaptation List: TV Edition

Standard

In light of Shadowhunters: The TV Show (based off of the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, and beginning with City of Bones) dropping this New Year, I’ve thought long and hard about what books I would love to see be adapted into TV shows. Why not movies? I hear you ask. Good question. Some books are just too complicated or too layered to be compacted into a film, and once you see my list, you’ll understand why.

These books are in no particular order.

1

The Heather Wells Mysteries

849675

Heather’s perfectly happy with her new size 12 shape (the average for the American woman!) and her new job as an assistant dorm director at one of New York’s top colleges. That is, until the dead body of a female student from Heather’s residence hall is discovered at the bottom of an elevator shaft. – from Goodreads.com

Can you imagine a comedy/drama/crime TV featuring a body positive message and exciting murder mysteries? Talk about breaking the mould, much. I can only imagine Jen Morrison in the role as Heather Wells the badass amateur sleuth and Ben Barnes her gorgeous love interest Cooper. Does it sound perfect? It does to me.

2

Nineteen Minutes

902826

Sterling is an ordinary New Hampshire town where nothing ever happens–until the day its complacency is shattered by an act of violence. Josie Cormier, the daughter of the judge sitting on the case, should be the state’s best witness, but she can’t remember what happened before her very own eyes–or can she? As the trial progresses, fault lines between the high school and the adult community begin to show–destroying the closest of friendships and families. – from Goodreads.com

One of the things I loved the most about this book was it’s ensemble of characters, and how all of them played a vital role in the plot. Picoult crafted this book so well, with moral complexity, layers and much more, and I can definitely see it being adapted in the near future.

3

 Dorothy Must Die

20483113

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling. – from Goodreads.com

I would love nothing more than to see Danielle Paige’s new (but not improved) world of Oz come to life. Everyone loves the character of Dorothy, but now that it’s under her rule, I want everyone to see what she’s been up to whilst we’ve been away.

4

Paper Valentine

16137923.jpg

The city of Ludlow is gripped by the hottest July on record. The asphalt is melting, the birds are dying, petty crime is on the rise, and someone in Hannah Wagnor’s peaceful suburban community is killing girls. – from Goodreads.com

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, I think this book would fill the void it our hearts once our precious PLL ends. *sob*

5

Fallen

6487308

17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart. – from Goodreads.com

Yes, I know Fallen is already in the works to be made into a movie, but City of Bones was a movie before it was part of the Shadowhunters TV Series. I think what really drew me into this book was Luce’s adventures at Sword and Cross, which I think would translate really well to TV. Who knows? Hopefully if the movie is successful they can make a TV off the back of it?

So this is the list (so far) of books I think would make good TV shows. What are yours? Let me know down in the comments if I’m missing out on any adaptation gems!