Best Books of Jan-Feb-Mar 2017

Standard

When considering my top books of the year posts that I post as we count down to Christmas, I also think about giving out honourable mentions to books that narrowly missed out on the list. I quite often read a lot of books that I want to recommend to other people, as some books might not have been for me personally. So, with that in mind, I wanted to make a quarterly book round-up for books that I enjoyed that may or may not make the best books of the year list. With that in mind, let’s get this list underway.

These books are in no particular order.

Poison Study by Maria V Synder

1192363

Yelena has a choice – be executed for murder, or become food taster to the Commander of Ixia. She leaps at the chance for survival, but her relief may be short-lived. – from Goodreads.com

I had real Thrones of Glass vibes with this book, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I enjoyed Throne of Glass and Poison Study for different reasons. I loved the slow burn romance with Valek and I wondered whether it was going to happen for a while, so the pay off was great. It was nice to have it subtle and hinted at rather than insta-love. It had a nice and mature result. The book, over all, was really good fun and I will definitely be reading the second book in the series, Magic Study.

The Leaving by Tara Altebrando

30170442

Eleven years ago, six kindergartners went missing without a trace. After all that time, the people left behind moved on, or tried to. Until today. Today five of those kids return. – from Goodreads.com

Although this book might present as the usual “kidnapped but coming home” story, there are some really unique and interesting differences, and developments, throughout the book. One of them is that there is actually a book that appears in The Leaving that is titled… well… The Leaving! It gets very meta and keeps you guessing right up until the very end! The Leaving is very interesting to read!

One by Sarah Crossan

26013573

Grace and Tippi are twins – conjoined twins. And their lives are about to change. No longer able to afford homeschooling, they must venture into the world – a world of stares, sneers and cruelty. Will they find more than that at school? Can they find real friends? And what about love? – from Goodreads.com

This book absolutely broke my heart but I don’t want to go into too much detail about this book because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone. Also, what I adored about this book was that it was written in verse, which is always something that I love as a poetry fiend.

My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier

28614411

Che Taylor has four items on his list: 1. He wants to spar, not just train in the boxing gym. 2. He wants a girlfriend. 3. He wants to go home. 4. He wants to keep Rosa under control. – from Goodreads.com

This was an absolutely chilling and unique read, one that will stick with me for a while I think. Once again, I don’t want to give too much away, or accidentally spoil someone, but what I did love about the book was the way that Che’s feelings of frustration, and down-right terror about his sister Rosa, translated on the page.

The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro

30805963

Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes are looking for a winter break reprieve in Sussex after a fall semester that almost got them killed. But nothing about their time off is proving simple, including Holmes and Watson’s growing feelings for each other. When Charlotte’s beloved uncle Leander goes missing from the Holmes estate—after being oddly private about his latest assignment in a German art forgery ring—the game is afoot once again, and Charlotte throws herself into a search for answers. – from Goodreads.com

This is the second book in the Charlotte Holmes series which re-imagines the world of Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes. In this instalment, we move away from Sherrinford and to Holmes’s family home in Sussex, which is not too far from me actually! Their cat and mouse game all of Europe was so fast-paced that I finished this book really quickly!

So that sums up my three month round up. The next collection will be April-May-June. Are there any books on this list you read and loved? Do you have any recommendations you think I should get to reading in the next three months? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

