Why I Buy Multiple Copies of Books

Standard

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a book lover is expected to hoard many editions of the same book. I am one of those book lovers, in fact, I like to bump my title up to ‘book collector’ because that’s exactly what I do. I collect books, and in this blog post, I’ll be telling you why. As an example, I’ll be using one of my favourite books Looking for Alaska by John Green as an example.

First Editions

342209

If you rank a book high enough on your list of favourites, when you see a first edition for the right price it should be made illegal not to buy it. Whenever I tell Bob or Sally that ‘I have a first edition of Book Title by Author’ they always say, ‘oh my god you can sell it on EBay for X amount in a few years. That’ll be great!’, and I say ‘No Sally, take your blasphemous mouth out of my bedroom’ as I proceed to nap with said book in my arms for the rest of time. You heard it here first.

Paperbacks

17416065.jpg

You have two options, you have the general paperback or the mass-market paperback. I personally am a fan of both. I love the chunky little books that fit snugly in my rucksack next to my wand and invisibility cloak. If I’m conducting a re-read, I don’t want to take my first edition hardback out of it’s shrine and lug it around where people could sneeze on it or spill their coffee on it. No thank you. I’ll buy a paperback which I can ruin (in a controlled, artistic way) to my hearts content.

Collectors Editions

24437505.jpg

Collectors editions, illustrated editions, anniversary editions, you name it, I’ve got it. Quite often, they are not just a reissue with a different cover, some actually have extra content which is always exciting! For example, the anniversary edition of Looking for Alaska has questions and answers with John Green and deleted scenes. That’s gold for a fan-girl like me!

Audiobooks

25785036

I am personally a huge fan of audiobooks and the fact that you can now upgrade your ebooks with audio for cheap is something I am delighted about! Having the audiobook in your library is not the same as a physical book. It just means you can do things hands free and read at the same time!

EBook

24697638

To be honest, now that you can upgrade with audio, it’s even more of a reason to get the e-book on your Kindle, just in case your favourite novel gives you the option to (most do!). Also, if you’re a Kindle/E-Reader kind of person, you can literally carry around multiple books in your pocket, and you need an e-version of your favourite in case you feel the need for a spontaneous re-read.

Editions to Annotate

934301

This is more of a personal one. I love annotating my books and so I don’t particularly want to deface my most loved first edition or my collectors edition, so for someone like me who loves to highlight and scribble, it’s worth getting a second hand paperback to do with as I please.

Edition to Lend to Friends/Family

10518900

Quite honestly, lending books to people is like ripping out a piece of my soul. It’s like parting with a child. Like saying goodbye to a loved one before a long trip. My way of loosening the heart strings is to buy a dog-eared second hand copy to lend to people. That way, if that person never gives it back, then not only can they be sent to a special place reserved for book steal-ers but you can also rest assured that all of your copies are safe in your shrine, ready for you to pet them gently.

So that is why I buy multiple copies of books! Not that I have to justify myself or anything because I’m an adult and I can do what I want. Do you buy multiple copies? What book do you have multiple copies of? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Why I Buy Multiple Copies of Books

  1. That’s awesome. The only book I have more than one copy of is Pride & Prejudice – my well-thumbed copy, a beautiful hardback that was a leaving present from a job, and a copy I have no idea where it’s come from

Leave a Reply

