Most Anticipated TV Series in 2017

Standard

Since the arrival of subscription TV like Netflix and Amazon Prime, the popularity of TV has shot through the roof. There is quite literally something for everyone out there, and I can happily say my TV tastes have broadened since I subscribed. So here are the top five TV shows I’m looking forward to watching in 2017.

These TV shows are in no particular order.

Beyond

Launching 2nd January 2017 on Freeform

BeyondLogo.jpg

(c) Wikipedia

Beyond is about Holden, a young man who wakes up from a coma after 12 years and discovers new abilities that propel him into the middle of a dangerous conspiracy. – from IMDb

The main character is played by Burkely Duffield, who I know well from House of Anubis fame, and so when I saw his cheeky little face pop up on the trailer for Freeform’s new TV show, I knew I had to watch it. It looks right up my street!

Nicki

Launching Unknown on Freeform

Nicki_Minaj_3,_2012.jpg

(c) Wikipedia

Nicki Minaj revealed on Instagram that the show is called “Nicki” and that Whoopi Golberg will have an appearance on the autobiographical comedy. – from IMDb

After this TV comedy was announced, I haven’t heard much about it since. There is no current release date, only that it’s in production with Freeform and is listed under their Upcoming Programming. It’s certainly something I’m interested in watching, as Nicki Minaj is an influential artist not only in pop culture but in the main stream media too.

Emerald City

Launching 6th January 2017 on NBC and Channel 5 (UK)

Emerald_City_NBC_TV_series.png

(c) Wikipedia

A modern reimagining of the stories that led to ‘The Wizard of Oz’. – from IMDb

If you know anything about me, you’ll know that I LOVE retellings, whether it be classic literature, biographies, fairy tales, fables, anything and everything! So when I heard about Emerald City, ages and ages ago, I was waiting with baited breath for it to be released. Now, the wait is over! And to top it all off, it’s being released in the UK via Channel 5!

Big Little Lies

Launching 19th February 2017 on HBO

MV5BMjIzOTU4MjQyM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjQ4ODE4MDI@._V1_.jpg

(c) IMDb

While Madeline and Celeste take new in town single mom Jane under their wing, none of them realises how the arrival of Jane and her inscrutable little boy will affect them all. Big little lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive. – from IMDb

I first heard about this because I love to keep an eye on Shailene Woodley’s releases and what she’s up to, and so when I heard about this TV series AND the all star cast she was working with, I knew I had to watch it!

Thirteen Reasons Why

Launching January – April 2017 (?) on Netflix (?)

MV5BMTU0NzI1MzA4OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNDM3MzA1OTE@._V1_.jpg

(c) IMDb

Thirteen Reasons Why, based on the best-selling series by Jay Asher, follows teenager Clay Jensen in his quest to uncover the story behind his classmate and crush Hannah’s decision to end her own life. – from IMDb

Ever since I read the book back in 2014 there have been rumours that this novel was going to be made into something. I’ve heard rumours of a movie with Selena Gomez attached and, most consistently, a TV show, with and without Selena Gomez attached. Us fans of the book have waited and waited for a release date, a trailer, anything to wet our appetites and it’s only been in the last month that we’ve heard further rumours that this TV show will finally be released as a Netflix Original between January and April. Nothing has been confirmed yet, but I’m still holding out hope!

So that concludes the top five TV shows I’m looking forward to this year. Are you looking forward to them to? Or have I just led you to another labyrinth of binge watching for the New Year? (Sorry!) Let me know down in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Most Anticipated TV Series in 2017

  1. Beyond sounds most exciting to me! I feel I should read the book Thirteen Reasons Why before I watch the series. It doesn’t sound like my usual taste, but I’ve heard such great things I might have to try it!

Leave a Reply

