Most Anticipated Films of 2017

Standard

2016 was a great year for films! I saw well over 30 thanks to Cineworld and their Unlimited card, which meant that I got to see a lot of good trailers for the films coming out 2017. Here are the ones I am most excited for!

These films are in no particular order.

1

Beauty and the Beast

MV5BMjEyMzExMDczNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzYzMjczOTE@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

An adaptation of the Disney fairy-tale about a monstrous prince and a young woman who fall in love. – from IMDb

Disney are going through a new phase of adapting all of their old animated classics into live action movies. It started with Alice in Wonderland, then Maleficent, and then was followed by Cinderella and the Jungle Book. I’m certainly not complaining, I love Disney movies, and this means I can relive the magic in the cinema all over again!

2

La La Land

MV5BMzUzNDM2NzM2MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTM3NTg4OTE@._V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_.jpg

Β A jazz pianist falls for an aspiring actress in Los Angeles. – from IMDb

Ryan Gosling. Emma Stone. Musical. LA.

Need I say more?

3

King Arthur: The Legend of the Sword

MV5BNjU5NTg4MjgyNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTc3MzE1OTE@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

Feature film version of the classic King Arthur story. – from IMDb

This one looks like an awesome action/adventure story reminiscent of Disney’s The Sword in the Stone, also a retelling of King Arthur, with Guy Ritchie directing and a screen writing credit. Ritchie most recently directed the Sherlock Holmes duology, two of my favourite films.

4

Power Rangers

mv5bnda3mtk3nze0mf5bml5banbnxkftztgwotyxntqyote-_v1_sy1000_cr006481000_al_

A group of high-school kids, who are infused with unique superpowers, harness their abilities in order to save the world. – from IMDb

You might think this is just another opportunity to exploit the nostalgia that has driven Marvel and DC to bulk release many films, with overpowering CGI and thin plots. You MIGHT think that. I personally love a good action/adventure film, especially when they involve a gang of misfit teenagers.

5

Before I Fall

MV5BNDYwOTY0MDI2OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTE5NzM2MDI@._V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_.jpg

February 12 is just another day in Sam’s charmed life until it turns out to be her last. Stuck reliving her last day over one inexplicable week, Sam untangles the mystery around her death and discovers everything she’s in danger of losing. – from IMDb

Basically anything that Zoey Deutch touches, I’m there. I’m hoping this is going to be an awesome mash up between If I Stay and The Lovely Bones. This has been slated for release for a while, but I’m so glad we’re finally going to get a chance to see it!

So here are my top five films that are on my most anticipated list of 2017. Most of the ones that have been announced are within the first three to six months, so hopefully as we come into the beginning of 2017 there will be lots more announced.

Have I missed out one you’re excited for? Or is there a film on this list that gets you excited as me? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Films of 2017

Leave a Reply

