Series I Won’t Finish

Standard

As Frank Zappa once said: so many books, so little time, and unfortunately due to real life getting in the way I’ve had to cull a few books from my illustrious TBR shelf, and cut a few series along the way too. So I’ve put together the top five series that I regrettably won’t be finishing (anytime soon).

These books are in no particular order.

The Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld

13581049

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. In just a few weeks she’ll have the operation that will turn her from a repellent ugly into a stunning pretty. And as a pretty, she’ll be catapulted into a high-tech paradise where her only job is to have fun. But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world– and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally a choice: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. Tally’s choice will change her world forever. – from Goodreads.com

I read the first book in the Uglies series for one of my classes at university and quite enjoyed it. So then I decided to read Pretties, which was book two, but enjoyed it significantly less. I don’t think I’ll be embarking on the third book, Specials, any time soon.

The Pretty Little Liars Series by Sara Shepard

162085

Three years ago, Alison disappeared after a slumber party, not to be seen since. Her friends at the elite Pennsylvania school mourned her, but they also breathed secret sighs of relief. Each of them guarded a secret that only Alison had known. Now they have other dirty little secrets, secrets that could sink them in their gossip-hungry world. When each of them begins receiving anonymous emails and text messages, panic sets in. Are they being betrayed by some one in their circle? Worse yet: Is Alison back? – from Goodreads.com

I have never heard of a series having so many books attached to it. The Pretty Little Liars series has sixteen books in total which must be a world record. I have read eleven of them in total but felt that after that amount, the books were a bit same-y.

The Jennifer Jones Series by Anne Cassidy

3257374

Three children walked away from the cottages on the edge of town toward Berwick Waters. Later that day, only two of them came back. Alice Tully knows exactly what happened that spring day six years ago, though it’s still hard for her to believe it. She’ll never be able to forget, even though she’s trying to lead a normal life-she has a job, friends, and a boyfriend whom she adores. But Alice’s past is dangerous, and violent, and sad, and it’s about to rip her new life apart. – from Goodreads.com

I really enjoyed the first book in Anne Cassidy’s duology, but the second book Finding Jennifer Jones didn’t live up to the level of the first, and around a quarter of the way through I decided to put it down and preserve my love for the first book instead.

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snickett

109484

Dear Reader, I’m sorry to say that the book you are holding in you hands is extremely unpleasant.It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children.Even though they are charming and clever,the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. – from Goodreads.com

Unfortunately I completely missed the boat with this one, having read it only last year at the tender age of 24 when I should have read it ten years earlier! I love the movie and am really looking forward to the upcoming Netflix series, but I won’t be continuing with the books as I feel I’m a little bit too old now.

The Fallen Series by Lauren Kate

6487308

Seventeen-Year-Old Luce is a new student at Sword & Cross, an unwelcoming boarding/reform school in Savannah, Georgia. Luce’s boyfriend died under suspicious circumstances, and now she carries the guilt over his death with her as she navigates the unfriendly halls at Sword & Cross, where every student seems to have an unpleasant—even evil—history. It’s only when she sees Daniel that her life looks a little better. But Daniel has a secret which will put their lives in danger… – from Goodreads.com

I enjoyed reading Fallen, especially in the setting at Sword and Cross. So when I found out that the next book in the series, Torment, moves away from the school and focuses on (in my opinion) the weakest element of the series (the romance), I decided not to continue with the series.

So that concludes the series that I won’t be finishing. Are there any on this list you think I should rethink? Or do you agree with my choices? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Series I Won’t Finish

  1. A Series of Unfortunate Events would be on my list too! Not because I got to it too late, but because I didn’t like it when I was 10 — funnily enough, I found the first book too depressing. xD

    I’m sorry to hear Pretties wasn’t so good. I loved Uglies and I’ve been meaning to pick the second book up. Maybe I won’t worry after all.

    For me, the major series I’ll never finish is Terry Goodkind’s Sword of Truth books. With 15 books to the series (plus a couple of spin-offs and prequels) it rivals the length of the Pretty Little Liars books, and although the first few books were decent, the quality plummeted fast. I wanted to throw the last one I read out the window, and the Amazon reviews said the next in the series is even WORSE. I can’t imagine it, and I really can’t be bothered to find out how!

    • Uglies was brilliant but I was completely and utterly let down by Pretties. Give it a go and see what you think but I was not impressed. Unfortunately, a declining quality in a book series is quite common, I think? Such a shame. Not a lot of people can sustain it for a huge length of time!

      • I think it’s an unfortunate theme where a writer comes up with a great first book, and then they’re forced to keep writing sequels! You’re right, it’s such a shame. I might still check out Pretties, but I think I’ll get a library copy instead of buying it!

Leave a Reply

