Being a Good Samaritan: Places I Like to Donate To

Standard

I have a complex where I have an inexplicable desire to help people, and I recently gave blood for the first time to help fuel my conscience. I also like to donate to various places, and I’m going to list down below where and why. The purpose of this post is to give those areas in need more exposure, so that others may volunteer or donate to them as they see fit. These services have helped so many people in my area of East Sussex and all over the country, even the world, so it seems right that they get the recognition and the exposure they deserve.

Counselling Plus

I had the opportunity to have 16 weeks of talking therapy at Counselling Plus over in Hastings, East Sussex, and found the experience to be so fulfilling and effective that I would recommend them to anyone and everyone thinking about having counselling. It’s run by a large amount of amazing people, some who volunteer their services and time selflessly without payment. In the waiting room, there is a book sale, with books donated and bought by those who pass through, and each book is 50p. All proceeds from the book sale go towards the charity so I like to donate the books I un-haul to the cause.

Bexhill Food Bank

My local Tesco and Sainsbury’s supermarkets offer a service so that you can donate food to the local food bank easily whilst doing your shopping. I like to donate one item a week to those less fortunate than me. I’ve never had to use a food bank myself, but one day I may have too, and I’ll be thankful for everyone donating and allowing me to use the service.

CrashCourse

Crash Course is a YouTube channel that educates its viewers in a range of different subjects, from World History, to Astronomy, to Literature and Politics, and many more. I constantly watch the videos on their channel and find that the way they explain the subjects to be very easy to understand and informative. At the moment, I only donate $1 a month via Patreon but I hope to donate more as the years go on. Crash Course also aim to create study worksheets and content for the underprivileged.

The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army do lots to help out people in need. Although the foundation began primarily linked to the Christian church, they go over and above the call of God with the charitable needs. I love to take the clothes I don’t want or need anymore and donate them to the clothes bank, which are situated in various places throughout the country. The Salvation Army then distribute those clothes to those who need them, sometimes to the homeless, sometimes to children in foster and care homes, or sometimes to third world countries. They do much more than just giving and receiving clothes, so if you’re interested in knowing more, I recommend you check out their website.

So these are my favourite charities to donate to. Do you have ones you love to support? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

