Rock Your Body: Tattoos and Piercings

Standard

My opinion on tattoos and piercings is similar to that of buying clothes and dying my hair. I buy a t-shirt in a certain colour because I like how it looks, and I dye my hair a certain colour, or cut it a certain way, because I think it suits me. These are forms of self-expression, and I believe tattoos and piercings fall into the same vein.

(My hair has been various colours over the years, as you can see!)

I wanted to do everything I could possibly do when I came of age, so I got my first tattoo on my eighteenth birthday, as well as buy cigarettes, place a bet and buy alcohol. I knew a lot of people wondered what to get for their first tattoo, worrying if they’d regret it or only getting it because they could. But not me, I knew exactly what my first one would be.

1463330623412

(Line work done at Black Pearl Tattoo, Bexhill)

People close to me will know my Dad passed away when I was fifteen, so I got Dad tattooed above my hip, next to my faint birthmark in the shape of a diamond. Now, nearly seven years later, I still love it. I could never regret anything that was in memory of my Dad.

1463330773204.jpg

(Dot work done at Inkscape, Bexhill)

My second tattoo I got only last year. I never felt pressured to get loads of tattoos really quickly, so I wanted to make sure I’d had an idea in my head for a while before I committed. Again, if you’re close to me, you’ll know my struggles with mental health, so it made sense for my to get a semicolon, not only for Project Semi Colon, but also because I’m a writer. (And the semi colon is a very underrated punctuation mark, along with the interrobang!)

I’ve also had my fair share of piercings done, beginning with my ears which I got pierced at Claire’s Accessories when I was twelve. Then, there was a trend that started which included everyone I knew getting helix piercings, and so naturally, as a naive sheep-like teenager, I got one too. After a few weeks, it was so sore I could barely touch it, let alone sleep on it, so I took it out and the hole healed up.

1463330657510.jpg

(Nose piercing done at Lord’s Ink, Bexhill and Labret done at Intro, Brighton)

Five years later, I really, really wanted a nose ring like Jeremy Davis from Paramore, and so went to get it done on a break from college. In the years after, I had toyed with getting a labret piercing, but always worried that I wouldn’t be “attractive” if I got it done. I worried people what people would think, or make assumptions about me that weren’t true. But in the end, at the tender age of twenty-two, I took the plunge in Brighton before going to see Charlie Simpson at the Old Market. I went to Intro in Queen’s Road and have been happy with my decision ever since.

The point of me writing this blog post is to tell anyone and everyone who is worrying about what others will think of their body modifications, permanent or non-permanent, then don’t. Your boy is yours to do with as you wish, and if you think it looks good, then that’s all the motivation you need!

Have you been thinking about getting a piercing or a tattoo? Or do you have some you’re particularly proud of? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

