Top 5 OTP Ships

Standard

In every book, in every TV show, in every movie, I always end up ship-ing at least once. Whether it be a friendship or a relationship, I often see deeper layers to character’s interactions than what is played out in front of me. I’ve (tried) to list my top five OTPs, although let’s be honest, it really could be a top 123,456, but I’ve narrowed it down to these few who always tug on my heart strings.

These ships are in no particular order.

1

Ron and Hermione

timthumb

(c) Mugglenet

The mother-ship of all ships. The OTP of all OTPs. I ship-ed this for ten years before it became “officially” cannon, and I, in fact, didn’t even know what ship-ing was until I entered online fandom. I simply wanted Ron and Hermione to be together forever and ever and have millions of lovely ginger haired children. Luckily they did. (Well… two…)

2

Tris and Four

tumblr_nepgic1zCl1rjrfw0o1_500

(c) butterflycaps

One of the main things I loved about the Divergent series is the fact that there is NO LOVE TRIANGLE. Tris and Four fall for each other and live happily ever after. (Don’t talk to me about Allegiant. Allegiant and I are not friends.) Tris and Four don’t play mind games, they don’t play each other, they come together and stay together and fight for/with each other. That’s what makes me love them.

3

Snow and Charming

tumblr_ns65p9S6Xm1rjrfw0o1_500.png

(c) butterflycaps

Back in season one of Once Upon a Time, when Misthaven/Enchanted Forest/Storybrooke was much less confusing, Emma and Henry tried to restore the memories of our beloved fairy tale characters and bring back the happy endings. Snow and Charming were MEANT TO BE TOGETHER. It is practically written in stone. They physically share one heart. All the to-ing and fro-ing made me dizzy, but they got there in the end.

4

Mary, Queen of Scots and Francis II of France

tumblr_mxxtg9h0Gu1rjrfw0o1_500.png

(c) butterflycaps

History books don’t paint (literally) Francis, or Mary, in a very good light. Francis, in his infancy, is a weak and sickly boy, who apparently was unable to consummate his marriage to Mary as he had not yet reached puberty. Mary on the other hand, was described more favourably, but later in life was considered to have murdered her second husband Lord Darnley. So imagine my happiness when Toby Regbo was cast as the young Dauphin of France and played opposite Adelaide Kane as Mary in hit TV show, Reign. Their on screen chemistry cemented my deep love for their short-lived romance and no, I’m still not over that episode.

5

Hanna and Caleb

tumblr_n3le3n300i1rjrfw0o1_500.png

(c) butterflycaps

Spencer had it right when she said Hanna and Caleb draw strength for each other and if IMK doesn’t make Haleb end game then I’m going to have some serious beef. All PLL fans have beef with some aspects of the show already, so don’t go making it worse, IMK. Let’s be honest, in the translation from books to TV show, adding Caleb was one of the best things the show-runners did. What makes Hanna and Caleb even more perfect is that they’re not only romantically involved, but they’re also great friends as well.

Honourable mentions go to: Sirius/Remus, Mary/Bash, Bash/Kenna, Greer/Leith, Carter/Max (Finding Carter), Nathan/Haley and Keith/Karen (One Tree Hill), Aravis/Shasta (The Chronicles of Narnia), Hazel and Gus (The Fault in Our Stars) and so many more!

Leave a Reply

