#CampNaNoWriMo – Week 1

Standard

What is this? I hear you ask. National Novel Writing Month NOT taking place in November? Yes, that’s exactly it. Camp NaNoWriMo is the Writing Challenge Summer Edition, perfectly timed for you to revise the manuscript you completed in November should you wish to. For me, I’m starting something completely new.

I was absolutely chuffed with the fact I completed NaNoWriMo for the first time last November, (you can see my progress here), but that particular project was something I had been working on for a few years. This time, I wanted to try a completely new fiction idea.

Losing Lola has been an idea that has been playing on my mind ever since the Pretty Little Liars Mid-Season Finale on August 11th 2015. Yes season 6 episode 10, the one where we found out who A was and all loose ends were “tied up”, and the frustration surrounding the revelation was what made me want to write a mystery, specifically a murder mystery. I, like many other PLL fans, had come up with fantastic and elaborate A theories, ones that would give Agatha Christie a run for her money, but those hopes and dreams of a surprising well thought out A reveal were dashed.

So my mind began to work, and a lot of the time and effort I put into grafting A theories, I put into making an outline for my own mystery instead, and thus Losing Lola was born.

Camp NaNoWriMo is slightly different to your usual monthly writing challenge, as you can set your own word count. I’m still being fairly ambitious and hoping to achieve a manuscript of 50,000 words by the end of the month.

So in my first week I managed to write a grand total of 13,052 words, and according to my stats, I’m on target.

week1

If I can achieve the same amount of words for next week as I did this week then I will be half way through the month and half way through the manuscript. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

