Why I Love Second Books.

Standard

second books

I know the title may stir some confusion but sit down, grab a cuppa, and let me explain. Usually when I buy and read a series, whether that be in bulk or waiting until a release date, I always, always enjoy the second in a series book the most. It wasn’t something I was completely aware of before, but after musing over my favourite sagas, it’s a pattern I’ve seen emerging.

Second books, particularly ones that encompass world building, I find are the strongest, as when we sit down to read it, we already have a prior knowledge of the world from the first book. I always find there’s a lot more character development, as we read more backstory or see them grow as they take on new challenges. If the book is part of a trilogy or a quartet, we are usually left on a cliffhanger, which is not only exciting, but means that for the next year we wait for baited breath for the next book.

So here are a few examples of second books I’ve read and LOVED.

The first thing I think of when I remember reading these books is pace. Quite a few of these books accelerate in pace, almost in a game of cat and mouse, which allows the reader to get swept up in the adventure. For example in Insurgent, Tris and Four are running all over Chicago, and we see areas of the dystopian world that we hadn’t seen in Divergent. My favourites were the Amity compound, the Factionless and Candor Headquarters. The phrase bigger and better comes to mind. Veronica Roth could use plot devices in Insurgent that she couldn’t use in Divergent, otherwise it would look messy and confusing.

Another great example is Catching Fire. We see Katniss move into the Victor’s Village with her family and see a whole array of new characters as Katniss and Peeta are catapulted back into the games. Firm favourites of mine are Finnick and Johanna, who go on to become strong alliances for Katniss in Mockingjay. We get to explore so much more of Panem through the Victor’s tour, as Katniss and Peeta travel through the districts to the Capitol. It’s Catching Fire that sets the wheels in motion for Mockingjay. It turns The Hunger Games into a Revolution, just as Insurgent does for the Divergent Series. You couldn’t just hop from book one to book three. Book two sets important groundwork for the big crescendo.

So these are my reasons why I love second books! Do you have a similar stand point? Let me know in the comments whether you agree, or if you prefer books one or three! Hey, there’s a rhyme in there somewhere…

Leave a Reply

