Top 10 Books I Read in 2015 (2 & 1)

Standard

Finally, we’ve made it. Here is the last post in my series Top 10 Books of 2015, and at number two we have The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson.

7953077

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, with a nearly magical grin. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But the two can’t collide without Lennie’s world exploding… – from Goodreads.com 

I’ll start by saying this, before reading The Sky is Everywhere I had only cried at two books. The first was Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling (who didn’t cry?), and the second being The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (again, who didn’t cry?). I didn’t expect to feel as much for this book as I did, but I found myself effortlessly swept up in Lennie’s story. Although the love triangle didn’t do much for me, I felt the real love story was the relationship between Lennie and her sister Bailey. Their relationship transcended off the page and into my heart, and as Lennie learnt to heal with the passing of her sister, I felt myself heal a little bit more as well. For young adult who is dealing with grief, I would recommend Jandy Nelson’s writing wholeheartedly. I gave this book a four out of five stars.

And finally, the number one book, the boss, the big cheese, the one that takes the cake. The book I am placing at number one is… Cinder by Marissa Meyer. 

11235712

I curse myself for not having read this sooner! When people tell me that they have had physical reactions to books, like hitting it, punching it etc, I’m not inclined to believe them. I’ve never had a reaction like that to a book before… until I read Cinder. This book was so good, the end scene so on point, that I actually threw it across my bedroom. Yes, the love story between Cinder and Kai might have been slightly predicable, and yes many may have felt the fairy tale elements made the narrative a bit forced, but for me, this book just worked. The thing I love about a fairy tale retelling, is that you already have an established structure and characters, from there, you can be as creative with the narrative/world/dynamics as you like, and Marissa Meyer certainly went to town with those. I didn’t know I wanted a book like Cinder until I read it, and then I binge-read Scarlet and Cress soon after (both of which receive honourable mentions in this list), and having not read a lot of Science Fiction before, this book really opened me up to a whole different genre. For the record, I gave Cinder five stars, and The Lunar Chronicles, collectively, have been my most enjoyable reads of 2015, which is why I am naming Cinder my top book of 2015.

So there you have it, my top ten books of 2015. I had so much fun compiling this list and so much fun reliving all those emotions I felt when I first read them. I can’t wait till December 2016, and I’m excited to think about all the amazing books I’ll be reading next year.

Leave a Reply

