Top 10 Books I Read in 2015 (6 & 5)

Standard

Let’s inspect the two books that narrowly missed out on top five status. The first at number six being, Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult.

902826

As a midwife, Lacy Houghton brings lives into the world. She didn’t expect her son to take them away. But that’s what he did one March morning, when he walked into his high school with guns instead of books and killed ten people. Along with the rest of the shocked and grief-stricken town, Lacy is left wondering when her shy 17-year-old boy turned into a monster. – from Goodreads.com 

This marked my first ever experience of reading a Jodi Picoult book. I’d seen My Sister’s Keeper at the cinema, and was bowled over by the rich narrative and moral complexity that the book-to-film adaptation presented. (Author note: I am aware of the massive changes that were made as a result of the film adaptation.) Nineteen Minutes was recommended to me by a good friend, and the subject of school shootings was something that interested me ever since that episode of One Tree Hill that aired in March 2006. This book was incredible well crafted and stayed with me long after I finished the last page. I gave this book five stars.

Then, at number five, we have Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige.

20483113

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.
But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado—taking you with it—you have no choice but to go along, you know? Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little blue birds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still the yellow brick road, though—but even that’s crumbling. – from Goodreads.com

When I originally read this book, I gave it a pretty harsh review. So why is it so high on my list? I hear you ask. I in no way hated this book (I’d like to make that very clear. I did NOT hate this book), but I do believe that hate, being a strong and powerful emotion, is very close to love. I was frustrated with this book at first, but I found that the reason I was so frustrated with it was because I actually really enjoyed it, and spent at great length thinking about this book after I finished it. The ending was so out of this world, and so impactful, that I couldn’t wait to read the second book in the series The Wicked Will Rise. It made me realise, all over again, that books aren’t always as simple as beginning, middle and end. Books need light and shade, depth and complexity, morality and emotional concepts, and if they have all of that combined, you usually end up with a pretty awesome end product. I gave this book four out of five stars.

Tomorrow we’ll examine the next two books on my top ten list of 2015.

Leave a Reply

