#NaNoWriMo – Week 1

Standard

As a NaNoWriMo newbie, the fact I have survived my first week and lived to tell the tale is an accomplishment in itself! But just to give you an idea of what my progress has been like, here are the stats.

week 1

My personal goal has been to try to write two thousand words per day, just because overall I would like to have sixty thousand words at the end of the month than fifty. The reason for this being that my novel is clearly split into three parts and I would like each part to be roughly twenty thousand each. At the moment, my first week took me to the end of part one, which as you can see is around fourteen thousand words, so it’s likely my first draft will take me up to around fifty, with another ten thousand left to elaborate on areas that have not been explored.

I’ve really enjoyed engaging with everyone on twitter using the hashtags and watching YouTube videos on the progress of other participants. Being able to write along with everyone else has been such a positive aspect of NaNoWriMo and I would definitely give this as a reason to take part again.

As for the next coming week, if I can write roughly another fifteen thousand then I would be halfway through my sixty thousand word goal, and halfway through NaNoWriMo itself.

Leave a Reply

