blue butterfly – give into love, or live in fear

Standard

1436285366608

Something I have realised from my experiences with the world, is that there are many ways to love. You can love some-one, or some-thing. Even if it’s a person, there is friend-love, family-love, love-love, but even love-love isn’t as black and white as it is sometimes portrayed. One is not simply “in love” or “not in love”, and it certainly is never as easy as a Facebook relationship status.

I have felt many different types of romantic love over the years. Some love is beyond all definition, and yet others make you feel as though you could burst with expression. For example, I have loved with every fiber of my being. I have loved until my chest felt as though it were to collapse in on me, to the point where it defies logic and reasoning. I have loved so passionately that I can scarcely breathe. I have loved so passionately that it haunts my soul.

On another note, I have also loved in tandem. I have felt quite literally as though I have another half. I have loved with full commitment to a union, a partnership, though don’t mistake this as a love without feeling. This love is matched with unquestioning loyalty, and met with definitive contentment. It is, ultimately, a marriage of souls.

Many people often ask “how many times have you been in love?” but that question is far too shallow. Love can be fleeting, and also everlasting, in many, many forms. I’ve learnt to never correlate quality and quantity when it comes to love. Many people spend years in a loveless marriage, and yet memories of passionate flings can last a lifetime.

Ultimately, I’ve learnt that no one can ever tell you how to love, or what kind of love matters, because all love matters, and it only matters to you.

Leave a Reply

